Paint Branch Educational Foundation


Paint Branch High School Educational Foundation Awards $4,500 in Scholarships to Seniors

The Paint Branch High School Educational Foundation awarded eight scholarships to Paint Branch Seniors totaling $4,500.00 to be applied to the college or technical school of their choice.

The Educational Foundation awarded six $500 Educational Foundation Scholarships. One $500 FlexEl Scholarship, was also awarded and sponsored by FlexEl LLC. This scholarship also includes the opportunity of a paid summer internship at FlexEl, located on the campus of the University of Maryland, College Park. Also awarded was the second Jeanette E. Dixon Scholarship for $1000.00 sponsored by the Paint Branch Athletic Association. This scholarship was offered this year in honor of former principal, Jeanette Dixon, who retired in 2013. The winning student-athlete earned at least one varsity letter, was academically successful in the classroom and demonstrated leadership skills at school or in the community.

The seniors who won the scholarships are:

Paint Branch HS Educational Foundation Scholarships:

  • Melanie Batchelor, Hamline University
  • Jorden Campbell, Barry University
  • Colin Creagan, Howard Community College
  • Jessica Hutchinson, Towson University
  • Lori Maszkiewicz, Salisbury University
  • Patrick Vigna, James Madison University

Flexel Scholarship:

  • Aman Anand, University of Maryland, College Park

Jeanette Dixon Scholarship:

  • Adeola Animasahun, University of Pittsburgh

All students were asked to write a 500 word essay interpreting and reacting to a quote from Theodor Geisel, commonly known as Dr. Seuss.

“To the world you may be one person; but to one person you may be the world.” – Dr. Seuss

This quote resonated with the Educational Foundation Board Members because it reminds us how much the actions of one person can make a difference to someone else. Students were asked to interpret the above quote and relate it to their time here at Paint Branch High School as well as to their educational future.

From the initial group of applications, the Board of Directors selected the top ten applicants to interview. Interviews were then held and the eight scholarship winners were selected. The scholarships were presented to the students at the Academic Awards night held at Paint Branch High School in May 2015.